Evening everyone,

I am thrilled to finally announce that the polypropylene hair is now in stock!

I am stupidly excited to have a BRAND NEW stock line, I am a hair addict 😀

I am sure you all have many questions about the polypropylene and I will do my best to answer them.

PP colour range

 

What is polypropylene?

Polypropylene looks and feels exactly the same as Nylon, if I called it Nylon you wouldn’t know it was anything different! (All apart from 4 colours, I shall get to those in a little while)

I have not yet had a chance to properly “play” with it so am going purely on how it feels straight from the packet, alongside the “official” spiel about the Polypropylene.

The colours are AMAZING, really unusual and unique. They are just as soft and shiny as the Nylon so I promise you will love it!

 

Can Polypropylene be boil permed?

The “official” answer: 99% sure that yes it can. Toy manufacturers curl it and style it all the time so if they can do it, so can we! Factory styling is always done using heat.

My personal answer:I have not yet tried it as it has literally just arrived with me, I have only got as far as fawning over the colours and photographing it. This weekend I am planning to do a reroot with it at which point I shall try both methods of curling, both air drying and boil perming. I shall report back with photos and results shortly!

 

Can I reroot using both Nylon and Polypropylene on the same doll? Yes 🙂

 

If I reroot the same doll using both Nylon and Polypropylene together, can I boil perm it? Again, 99% yes, both Nylon and Polypropylene should react the same way, however, I have yet to put this to the test!

 

Can I request a blend of a Nylon colour with a Polypropylene colour? Yes! You can blend the 2 types of hair together, that is not a problem.

 

OK, what about the 4 colours you mentioned earlier?

This is based on my first impression, this may change once I have had a play with the hair!

The 4 matte colours, Caliente, Daring, Hypnotic and Frivolous feel slightly different to the rest of the Polypropylene range.

They are heavier and have a slight greasy feeling, similar to Saran. However, the fibres are a little drier, perhaps a slightly heavier denier? If you have tried Pinky Pinky or Nitro Lime Saran you will understand what I mean!

These 4 colours are the only ones which I would say are not EXACTLY like the Nylon, although the colours are fab and the quality of the hair is second to none 🙂

Right well, all this is purely my personal first impression, the quality seems exceptional and I am impressed with the Polypropylene 😀

Expect further updates soon and I hope you are all as excited as I am about having the Polypropylene as a new addition to the My Little Customs line!

Robin x

